Art full motion

Motion.  Artful motion. Art filled with motion. Motion manifested in art.

Along with millions of other viewers this week I’m watching athletes in motion at the 2012 Summer Olympics. Awesome displays of athletic movements, motions and soaring competitive spirits.

Along with the rest of us, Pres. Obama is amazed, and talking about it. As he praises the USA womens gold medal winning gymnasts, he says (at ~47 sec. into the clip) something like:

I can understand, even though I am a lot slower, how to run and how to swim. But I do not understand how, on this little balance beam, you are flipping around.

Here’s a peak at what I’ve been painting this week. Looks like that sort of motion must be on my mind and seeping into my art…

…ephemeral shapes and flow of spiraling motion…

When I first stepped back and took a look, an image I saw decades ago leapt from my memory onto my view of the painting.

…the magnificent geometry of motion…

Stroboscope image, taken in 1954 by “Visionary Engineer”, Harold “Doc” Edgerton: Multiflash reveals the magnificent geometry of motion as a talented diver, Burt West, flips backwards ina procedure that lasted less than half a second..."
Stroboscope image, taken in 1954 by “Visionary Engineer”, Harold “Doc” Edgerton: Multiflash reveals the magnificent geometry of motion as a talented diver, Burt West, flips backwards in a procedure that lasted less than half a second…”

Motion manifests in art. Motion illuminates time and flow of energy. And I’m running out of words to elaborate, so this is where I’ll stop trying to describe it and get back to painting watching the Olympics.

I leave off with my own congratulatory offering of a spiral medley for the gold medal winning USA Fierce Five and all the Olympic competitors (and all you spectators too).

Artful ~logarithmic spirals small and large, near and far:

Golden spiral on a golden coin
Cloud formation in low pressure weather system
Nautilus cutaway (shell)
Whirlpool galaxy, a classic spiral galaxy
2 Comments

  1. how ethereal with great movement and so fitting with those jumping beans at the olympics! i like the use of colour and the watered look, too. have found a home/and has a small studio, hurray! ciao, marcia

    1. Oh you are good noticing the watered look…another subliminal (or not) influence of the summer Olympics! That’s great you’re getting re-settled – what do you have in the works in the new studio?

Leave a Reply

